A Healthy Routine To Help Beat Depression.

Tim Crossland-Page
3 min readMay 6, 2022
Photo by Jared Rice on Unsplash

I won a symbolic victory against the numb apathy that depression creates and got back into a semblance of my healthy routines by the end of this week. Nothing too strenuous. I managed to meditate for 20 minutes first thing after waking, and then did some light exercise.

Of course I feel better for doing so. It puts me in a stronger mind-frame for the day ahead. The meditation and exercise sloughs off some of the anxious energy that makes everything more difficult, and I have to say it is the most awake I’ve felt in the morning for at least a month. The meditation helps me wake up nice and slow and easy, and then the exercise gives my nervous system a good final jolt.

It was a small victory against myself. Because the temptation was to sleep later as I have been doing for the last month. But the sun is shining and I woke before my alarm went off and I seized my chance to get up and at it.

I’m hoping to get some consistency into these habits. It’s turning into quite a struggle. The goal this year was to be healthier. And overall I have been healthier than I have for the past few years. I’ve quit regular drinking, with the odd documented relapse here and there, and I’ve smoked less cigarettes this year. Currently I have managed a week of my latest attempt to quit and I haven’t cheated. Nicotine withdrawal has added to the…

--

--